The Wayne C. Matthews Continuing Education Award

Wayne Matthews

Up to $2,000 for a student who graduated from high school in 2022 or before.

This scholarship opportunity is offered to honor Dr. Wayne Matthews, who served as Director of the Yadkin Center at Surry Community College. His family and the entire community remember Dr. Matthews’ life, his contributions, and his tremendous model of servant leadership that he lived into daily throughout the community he loved.

Eligible applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Applicant must be a resident of or employed in Yadkin County.
  • Attending or planning to attend Surry Community College - Yadkin Campus, full-time or part-time, to complete a credential-producing program leading to an in-demand occupation.
  • Students who are taking a portion of their coursework at the main campus of Surry Community College in Dobson or online are eligible to apply. Applicants must be enrolled or plan to enroll in at least one course at the Yadkin Campus.
  • The scholarship amount of $2,000 may be used for tuition, fees, books, or other related course materials or equipment.


November, 20th at 5pm

Apply Online