Shore Scholars Program Reports Promising Outcomes

Nine of the first Shore Scholars have completed the program, with eight (89%) graduating from Surry Community College with an Associate of Arts degree and proceeding on track to a junior year in a 4-year college/university.

September 28, 2022

The Shore Scholars Program was launched in 2018-2019 school year at Starmount and Forbush High Schools. This unique program, jointly developed and operated by Yadkin County Schools and the Shallow Ford Foundation, has enrolled 56 students since its inception. The program is made possible by the Wayne A. Shore Endowment Fund of the Foundation. It supports students as they prepare for their chosen careers. Created for 11th and 12th grade students, the program provides a peer group and a personal mentor during high school and two years beyond high school graduation through the transition to college or occupational training.